Distance from Bacolod: 85.6 kilometers
Land Area: 14,370.00 hectares
Classification: 4th Class
No. of Barangays: 12 Barangays
Population: 34,658 (May 1, 2000) – 36,661 (2005 Projection)
Language: Hiligaynon/Ilonggo/Cebuano/English is spoken and understood
Quietly nestled at the very heart of Negros Island, where the air smells of the verdant blossoms and the rivers flow with languid tranquility, beats the muffled yet steady rhythm of rural lifestyle. Blessed with fertile plains, rich grassy steppes, abundant water resource, and demure yet industrious people is the town of Moises Padilla.
Formerly known as Magallon, its historical account started when a group of settlers from the island of Panay, passing upstream of Binalbagan River settled at the place they originally called “Funda”. With its population, many beautiful ladies were born, and the place was called “du-og sang mga magayon”. Likewise, the first settlers of the place were known to be very sensitive and furious when provoked. They were like an angry lion when enraged. The people living nearby were very cautious and often said – “basi Maga Leon naman sila”. The frequent usage of the term made an impact to people and Funda was customarily named “Magalyon” which later on hispanized as “Magallon”.
Once the biggest barrio of Isabela, it provided a huge income for the town because of its marketplace. Plenty of people converge in Magallon from the neighboring towns and sitios every Tuesday to trade with merchants from other places.
Magallon remained as a barrio until the Municipal Council of Isabela and the Provincial Board of Negros Occidental in a joint session on November 26, 1946 approved a resolution proposing the separation of barrios Magallon, Odiong and Guinpana-an with all their sitios to constitute a new municipality. The proposal was later approved and signed by President Elpidio Quirino on June 6, 1951.
The changing of the town’s name into “Moises Padilla” was in honor of its defeated Nacionalista Party candidate for mayor who was tortured to death by the Special Police of then Governor Rafael Lacson shortly after the 1951 elections. The town became a full-fledged municipality on October 16, 1951.
For more than 50 years, the municipality evolved into a dynamic yet peaceful community of law-abiding people. And with all the colors of its noble history, creates its own unique identity and indubitable stature not only as the place of beautiful and brave people but also as the “Livestock Capital of Negros Occidental”.
How to Get There
Moises Padilla is about two hour’s drive from Bacolod City by public utility vehicles and approximately one-hour-and-a-half by private car. Buses, taxis and other public utility vehicles are plying this area from the Bacolod South Terminal.
Moises Padilla is bounded by the Municipality of La Castellana in the north, Municipality of Isabela in the south and the Municipality of Guihulngan, Negros Oriental in the east to northeast.
Ang Tuburan sa Balanhigan is a mountain resort that offers accommodations for visitors.
Old Municipal Building was built in the early 50’s. It is one of the town’s historical attractions.
Japanese Barracks is the historical marker of World War II.
Kaitulari Eco-tourism Zone is the place for adventure and relaxation. It is where mother nature is at its best.
Magayon Festival. The municipality of Moises Padilla is famous for its livestock animals. It is a festival wherein dancers are dressed resembling any livestock animals found in the municipality.